Week 4: Mildura

I left Sydney Monday morning at around 12. It was a very small plane, with about 23 people in it. Only a few got of at Mildura, and some continued in the same plane. When I first got out, it was very quiet. My plane was the only one there, and I only had to walk a few meters to get my baggage (which only took a few minutes to get there). I was greeted by Emma (and now it gets confusing. This is another Emma, the one I will be staying with now. From now on she is the Emma I am mentioning) and her parents. We drove over to pick up their guinea pig, because they had just come home from holiday. I got to meet Rie, the other danish scout staying in Mildura. Afterwards we drove to their town house. They have two houses, one in the town and one on the countryside.

. . .

We got up at seven this morning, to catch the bus for school. Emma goes to a school called Mildura Senior College, so I went with her. In her school they don’t wear uniforms, and call the teachers by their first name. This is of course not different from Denmark, but it is quite unusual in Australia. School started at 9 (I think), and first lesson was psychology. It was easy to follow, and I found the topic (operant conditioning) quite interesting. The next lesson was English, where I read a book while the class talked about the book. They had read it beforehand, but obviously I hadn’t. In maths me and Emma were a bit lost, but I feel like it got better with time. I am hoping that I will understand it after a few lessons, because I have had about that particular topic before (logarithms). We ended the day with, a lunch break, and then chemistry. Chemistry was probably the best topic of the day, because 1) the teacher had brought brownies, and 2) we have had about bases and acids dozens of times so I actually knew what was going on.

When we got home, we had “afternoon tea” consisting of fruit, juice and chips. Emma’s little sister, Maddie, came home from camp so I got to meet her.

. . .

Another school day today. A bit longer and not as exciting, but it was okay. I did some grocery shopping with Maaike after school. For dinner we had kangaroo meatballs.

. . .

I am really liking the chemistry classes. I got to read my book a lot today though, because there was a few lessons I couldn’t participate properly in. After school we went back home, and for dinner we had hamburgers. After dinner me and Emma went to the venturer scout meeting. We went on a dump hike, so we got dumped of in the other end of Mildura, and walked back to the scout hall.

. . .

Friday we packed up our bags and went to Colignan, were the family have another house. It is even further away from everything, but it is still a nice place. That night it was very windy and rainy, so we just went inside. After dinner, we all went into the living room, and watched music videos on YouTube.

The farm house

. . .

Saturday morning after breakfast, I walked down to the river with Emma and their dog. Then we started packing our stuff, to go on a camp tonight. Mark gave me a tour of the farm, and we drove around to see all the citrus trees and vineyards.

In the afternoon we packed up our stuff in the car, and went to Kings Billabong to meet the other scouts and go camping. There were only three other scouts and a leader, but it was a nice little crowd. We sat around and made a campfire, and eventually we had our dinner. I tried sleeping in a swag – a tiny “tent” as pictured below.

swag

. . .

The next morning, we got up early (not on purpose) and saw the last bit of the sunrise.

Sunrise

After breakfast, we packed up some of our stuff and went for a hike. We walked out to a place called psyche pumps and back. I don’t really know how far we walked, but I am guessing it was between 10 and 15 kilometers. While walking, we saw a group of about seven kangaroos! They were not far away, and I also saw them jumping (which sounds weird to mention, but it looks really cool). I didn’t manage to get a picture of them, but I thought the experience would be better if I didn’t waste the time looking through my bag for my camera.

River

Back at the farm we had afternoon tea and I had a shower. For dinner we had lamb and vegetables made on a campfire in the garden, which the family does every Sunday. This Sunday was no exception, even though the weather was miserable.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close