Why running is a cleanser and yoga is a moisturizer

Do you ever find yourself with a lot of messy thoughts? In that state of mind where you can’t focus nor remember?  I do, a lot actually. Mostly after being around lots of people, because in that case I don’t get the time I need to think things through. Most introverts can probably relate. It is at this point I either go for a run or do my yoga routine.

The days I go for a run are the days I want to get out of my head. These are the days where I have had a bad day, and want to get rid of my thoughts. Therefore, running works as a cleanser to me. It gets me out of my mind, and into my body (quote from some movie, I don’t remember). That’s why, when I run, I like to run fast. Preferably in a forest with lots of things I need to avoid, either on the ground or in the air, and a tiny path I need to concentrate on. It is all these obstacles that get me out of my mind. I don’t have time to think about anything else than what is right in front of me, and sometimes that is all you need. Running gets me down to earth, it cleanses my body and mind.

Yoga, some would also call a cleanser. I don’t really think so. I find myself getting more into my head when doing yoga, than I would otherwise. And that is not a bad thing. That just means, that instead of getting rid of my thoughts, I go through them all, and put them in the right places. Some things I need to write down, because I need it to get out but still remember it. I like to think of my brain as a library. All my thoughts are books, and yoga is when the books are placed where they belong, but also read and considered. Yoga is a moisturizer, because it is not getting rid of the bad stuff, but improving the good. It is not ending something to start something new, but simply maintaining what already is – to make sure it wont dry out.

One thought on “Why running is a cleanser and yoga is a moisturizer

Leave a Reply

