Does creativity have to turn out pretty?

I would consider myself a pretty creative person. When I were a kid, Iloved everything creative. I painted, made bracelets, drawed, and made strange houses out of cardboard. I had absolutely no worries at all, because my parents told me it was pretty. When I got a bit older, and they started to hesitate when I asked them what they thought of my creations, I stopped doing some of the things I weren’t good at – even though I actually quite liked doing it. Don’t get me wrong, I kept doing some things, for example knitting.

But what I have figured out since then, is that there is far too much attention on the results. My thoughts on creativity now, is that it doesn’t matter how it turn out. If there is something you like doing, but really suck at – it shouldn’t keep you from doing it. To take an example, I’m really bad at drawing but still really like it. Therefore, I invest in coloring-in books, and I go all crazy. It’s not always pretty, but I really treasure the time I spend doing it.

I guess the term creativity have been replaced by ‘do it yourself’ or ‘DIY’, which is about making something instead of buying. Yes, I think it’s a great idea, as long as the world is not forgetting to be creative for the sake of creativity.

“You can’t use up creativity. The more you use, the more you get.”

 

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close